The Council

Our Leadership

Our Council reflects our Charlotte-Mecklenburg community. Their experiences and wisdom are coupled with a deep commitment to take bold action in improving economic mobility for all while governing our work.

James E. Ford

Principal Consultant - Filling the Gap Educational Consultants, LLC

Andrea B. Smith

Chief Administrative Officer - Bank of America

Erin Barbee

Director of Mission Advancement - Aldersgate

Laura Clark

President & CEO - United Way of Central Carolinas

Jesse Cureton

Executive Vice President & Chief Consumer Officer - Novant Health

Kandi Deitemeyer, Ed.D.

President - Central Piedmont Community College

Dena Diorio

County Manager - Mecklenburg County Government

Patrice Funderburg

Founder & Chief Visionary - Educate To Engage, LLC

Ophelia Garmon-Brown, M.D.

Senior Vice President, Community Wellness & Education - Novant Health

Marcus Jones

City Manager - City of Charlotte

Michael Marsicano, Ph.D.

President & CEO - Foundation for the Carolinas

Ray McKinnon

Pastor - South Tryon Community United Methodist Church

Edwin Peacock

Financial Advisor - Northwestern Mutual

Dee O'Dell

Senior Vice President - U.S. Bank

Federico Rios

Immigration & Integration Manager - City of Charlotte

Mike Rizer

Executive Vice President of Community Relations - Wells Fargo

Jennifer Weber

Executive Vice President, Human Resources - Lowe's Companies Inc.

Clayton Wilcox, Ed.D.

Superintendent of Schools - Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

Stephanie Kripa Cooper-Lewter, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Leading on Opportunity